Dyeday

So. Everyday I hear you asking ‘Just WHAT do I do with an entire sheets worth of plain white strips of fabric from someones lastyear Mummy Costume!?’ well…. That statement may not be entirely true since no one has EVER asked that in the history of halloween costumes OR mummies…however I do have an answer for you none the less.

Dye them. Weave them. Put them in a bus. Job done.

My beautiful talented amazing creative other half of nearly two months now ( i know, going well) SAM happens to own a rather interesting vintage VW bus (imported from New Mexico and therefore decorated with a DAY OF THE DEAD theme no less) so i figure naturally he need something by Me in it. Im already in the process of crocheting him a skull cushion but hey! Everyone likes rugs.

I found some ather interesting coloured wool at the weekend in a charity shop too which would compliment the dyes I hsve perfectly… But since the strips are currently soaking away i cant quite show u. I CAN however show u the dyes 🙂

20120715-175056.jpg

Also OOH LOOK WHAT I JUST MADE WHILE I WAS WAITING FOR DYES….

20120715-172439.jpg

Win!

But anyway….Wish me luck amigos.

~~

So….not what I was shooting for…. But what art project ever end up how it was supposed to anyway huh? The dye colours were as follows:

Burlesque maroon
Deep red
Flamingo pink
Terracotta brown

What I seem to have ended up with is….

20120715-201339.jpg

Varying degrees of pink. Clearly halloween costume sheets arent meant to be dyed. Next time il use all cotton mummy bandages. The plan was to give this rug to Sam but im not 100% sure he’ll enjoy a bright pink rug…i may have to keep this 😉 lols

Anyway… I have knitting to do now so ta ta!

Over and Out x

Leave a Reply

